The American Sound

Painting an extraordinary vista, this All-American program features Aaron Copland’s pastoral and rebellious Suite from Billy the Kid, Leonard Bernstein’s theatrical Symphonic Dances from West Side Story, and Joan Tower’s sweeping Made in America. Laced with influences from Jazz and Ragtime, the evening concludes with Gershwin’s innovative and sprightly Piano Concerto in F.

Copland – Suite from Billy the Kid
Bernstein – Symphonic Dances from West Side Story
Tower – Made in America
Gershwin – Piano Concerto in F

Orion Weiss, Guest Artist
Daniel Hege, Principal Guest Conductor

Saturday, April 10, 2021 | 7:30 PM